Contact Us Baptist Intranet login

Our Leaders



Charles Hewlett

National Leader

E: [email protected]
P: +64 9 526 0339

Raewyn Moodie

Baptist President

E: [email protected]
P: +64 21 797 427

Regional Leaders

Reti Ah-Voa

Northern Regional Leader

E: [email protected]
P: +64 21 177 6168

Peter Foster

Waikato Regional Leader

E: [email protected]
P: +64 27 592 5086

Peter Foster

BOP & Eastland Regional Leader

E: [email protected]
P: +64 27 592 5086

Mick Duncan

Central Districts Regional Leader

E: [email protected]
P: +64 21 364 100

Ruby Duncan

Central Districts Regional Leader

E: [email protected]
P: +64 27 455 5218

Mike Warring

Wellington Regional Leader

E: [email protected]
P: +64 27 450 1400

David McChesney

Top of the South Regional Leader—Interim

E: [email protected]

Kim Peters

Canterbury Westland Regional Leader

E: [email protected]
P: +64 21 153 3112

Rachel Murray

Otago & Southland Regional Leader

E: [email protected]
P: +64 27 220 9082

Senior Executive Team

Peter Browning

Interim Operations & Finance Director

E: [email protected]
P: +64 9 526 0337

Karen Warner

Leadership Co-ordination Director

E: [email protected]
P: +64 9 526 7958

Mike Crudge

Communications Director

E: [email protected]
P: +64 21 100 5915


HR Legal Director


Murray Cottle

National Regional Leader Coach; Evangelism

E: [email protected]
P: +64 27 453 6052

Assembly Council

Assembly Council acts in a governance role and is responsible for establishing policies and practices consistent with both the determinations of the annual Assembly of the churches and in between Assembly, for the wellbeing of the movement. Its responsibility extends to ensuring that the National Leadership and the National Resource Centre implement effective management procedures.

Assembly Council comprises the President, the Vice President, eight members elected by Assembly, the National Leader, National Administrator, and a representative from the Council of NZ Baptist Missionary Society  and up to three co-opted members. 

Current members: Raewyn Moodie (President), Charles Hewlett (National Leader), Rangiaruaru Hema (Operations, Property and Finance Director), Rāwiri Auty (NZBMS rep)

  • John Alpe

  • Blue Bradley

  • Helen Brereton

  • Chris Chamberlain (Chair)

  • Luke Kaa-Morgan

  • Angela Pedersen

  • Das Premadas

Baptist Assembly

Baptist Assembly is the annual gathering of representatives and which elects the three governance bodies:

  • Assembly Council - Life and work of Union itself

  • Baptist College Board - Carey Baptist College

  • Mission Council -  NZ Baptist Missionary Society

Assembly also appoints the three senior staff members who manage each of the above entities:

  • National Leader

  • Carey Baptist College Principal

  • NZ Baptist Missionary Society Director 

According to agreed strategic directions and according to the specific purposes for which the particular President with his/her own gifts and experience has been appointed, the President contributes to the work and witness of the denomination at all levels.

This contribution may be in the contexts of local churches, regional Associations, Assembly Council, Mission Council, other BU bodies, etc. Wider opportunities may include interdenominational, national and international. These opportunities may come in a variety of forms, and may include anything from dispute resolution to ceremonial functions.



Postal Address
National Centre, PO Box 12 149,
Penrose, Auckland 1642

Physical Address
473 Great South Road, Penrose, Auckland


Phone: (09) 526 0333

Email: [email protected]


Privacy Policy Disclaimer Charities Commission No. CC22731
© 2021 The Baptist Churches of New Zealand. All Rights Reserved