Gift Basket Contact Us Church Login
 

Our Leaders

 

Leaders


Craig Vernall

National Leader

E: craig.vernall@baptist.org.nz
P: +64 9 526 0339

John Douglas

President

E: john@bethlehem.org.nz
P: +64 7 544 4990


Regional Missional Leaders


Mike Walker

Regional Mission Leader Waikato

E: mike@hamsouthbaptist.org.nz
P: +64 7 843 5950

Paul Edlin

Regional Mission Leader Wellington

E: p.edlin@lifeimpactcentre.org.nz
P: +64 4 564 7022


David McChesney

Regional Mission Leader - Bay of Plenty Eastland

E: mcchesney777@gmail.com
P: +64 22 095 0515

Derek Pyle

Regional Mission Leader Otago Southland

E: pyle-dm@ihug.co.nz
P: +64 21 280 5817


Maurice Atkinson

Regional Missional Leader Canterbury - Westland

E: Pastor.Maurice@xtra.co.nz
P: +64 27 232 7353


Ministry Heads


Karen Warner

Children and Family Ministries Team Leader

E: karen.warner@baptist.org.nz
P: +64 9 526 7958

Ruby Duncan

Community Ministries Team Leader

E: communityministries@baptist.org.nz
P: +64 9 526 7956


Steve Davis

Ethnic Ministries Team Leader

E: steve.davis@baptist.org.nz
P: +64 9 582 0021

David Moko

Kaihautu – Baptist Māori Ministries

E: david.moko@baptist.org.nz
P: +64 9 526 7952


Daniel Palmer

National Administrator

E: daniel.palmer@baptist.org.nz
P: +64 9 526 0337

Gary Grut

BYM National Manager

E: gary.grut@baptist.org.nz
P: +64 9 526 7950


Assembly Council

Assembly Council acts in a governance role and is responsible for establishing policies and practices consistent with both the determinations of the annual Assembly of the churches and in between Assembly, for the wellbeing of the movement.  Its responsibility extends to ensuring that the National Leadership and the National Resource Centre implement effective management procedures.

Assembly Council comprises the President, the Vice President, eight members elected by Assembly, the National Leader, National Administrator,  and a representative from the Council of NZ Baptist Missionary Society  and up to three co-opted members. 

Current members: Brian Kenning (President), John Douglas (Vice-President), Craig Vernall (National Leader), Daniel Palmer (National Administrator), Greg Knowles (NZBMS rep)

  • John Alpe

  • Brigitte Crowe

  • Ken Edkins

  • Peter Foster

  • Raewyn Moodie

  • Bruce Patrick

  • Rob Stacey

  • Mike Warring

Baptist Assembly

Baptist Assembly is the annual gathering of representatives and which elects the three governance bodies:

  • Assembly Council - Life and work of Union itself

  • Baptist College Board - Carey Baptist College

  • Mission Council -  NZ Baptist Missionary Society

Assembly also appoints the three senior staff members who manage each of the above entities:

  • National Leader

  • Carey Baptist College Principal

  • NZ Baptist Missionary Society Director 

According to agreed strategic directions and according to the specific purposes for which the particular President with his/her own gifts and experience has been appointed, the President contributes to the work and witness of the denomination at all levels.

This contribution may be in the contexts of local churches, regional Associations, Assembly Council, Mission Council, other BU bodies, etc. Wider opportunities may include interdenominational, national and international.  These opportunities may come in a variety of forms, and may include anything from dispute resolution to ceremonial functions.

 

     

Postal Address
National Resource Centre, PO Box 12 149,
Penrose, Auckland 1642

Physical Address
473 Great South Road, Penrose, Auckland

 

Phone: (09) 526 0333

Email: info@baptist.org.nz

 

Privacy Policy Disclaimer Charities Commission No. CC22731
© 2013 The Baptist Churches of New Zealand. All Rights Reserved